A short walk in the woods

I took a short walk through damp woods near a waterfall (there are four gorgeous waterfalls within a ten minute walk of my dad’s lakeside property – have I mentioned how beautiful the Finger Lakes are?).  I found these plants, all native.  This first set is all one species, I believe, with Jennifer from the iMapInvasives Project Team suggesting it is probably Broad-leaved Waterleaf (Hydrophyllum canadense).  I included all my photos since the leaves vary.  My neighbors said that the flowers that it puts out in the spring match the illustration in the book.

These are the rest.  There sure are a lot of nettles in the woods.  They often seem to grow right in rocky creekbeds.

This entry was posted in Exploring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

