No Tan Tiki Trail

No Tan Tiki Trail

No Tan Tiki Trail

I took a walk on the No Tan Tiki Trail in the Finger Lakes National Forest.  It seems funny to me that this is New York’s only national parkland.  Not the Catskills, not enormous Adirondack Park – those are state.  FLNF isn’t very big or awe-inspiring, being mostly pretty pastureland and woods.  I had to dodge the cow-pies as I walked through the fields, but I had a great time.

Plenty of invasives here, some more widespread than others, but nothing was completely taking over any area.  There was a lot of diversity and everything seemed to be playing nicely.  It has been interesting for me as I walk to notice the different areas where different plants thrive – completely different communities depending on swampiness, amount of light, direction of sun exposure.

This entry was posted in Exploring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

